Wellington Branch of the NZCFS

Luke Qin

Wellington Branch President Luke Qin JP

Welcome to the Wellington Branch of the New Zealand China Friendship Society. 

Follow the Wellington Branch on Facebook.

Wellington branch was founded in 1956.

Present membership about 170.  Activities include monthly meetings featuring talks and activities about aspects of Chinese culture, current affairs and trade; and a major banquet each year at Chinese New Year.  Monthly meetings are held at Connolly Hall, Guildford Tce (off Hill Street) March to November on the third Wednesday at 5.45 pm followed by an optional buffet Chinese meal at the hall.

Supports a Youth Group (www.nzcfsyouth.org) which organises activities to promote integration of Chinese and New Zealand culture.

The Branch also sponsors a weekly Mandarin Corner where those wishing to improve or retain their Chinese language skills mix with native speakers. From August 2013, Mandarin Corner was re-launched according to an agreement with the VUW Confucius Institute. The weekly social gathering for conversational Chinese practice is now managed by a core team of Mandarin Language Assistants at the VUW CI. These are held every Saturday afternoon from 3.15-4.30 pm during school term in Seminar Room 103, 24 Kelburn Parade, Victoria University of Wellington.

The Wellington Branch supports the Sister Cities link with Xiamen and Beijing, and keeps close contact with the other local Chinese associations.

A monthly newsletter is published with details of current activities.

To find out more about any NZCFS Wellington Branch activities please contact:

The Secretary, NZCFS Wellington, PO Box 5423 Lambton Quay, Wellington.

President: Luke Qin
Vice-President: Michelle McCarthy
Immediate Past President: Michael Powles
Secretary: Graham Gibbs
Treasurer: Sam Macintosh
Committee: Diwen Cao, Gerard Coyle, Bing Fon, Rosemary Jones, Robert Lau, Hong Yuan and Vera Xu
Webpage Administrator: Christine Strickland
Honorary Advisors: Michael Powles and Christine Strickland
Life Members: Ray Brownrigg, Douglas Day, Bing Fon, Rob McGibbin, Joan McGibbin, Mary Gray, Bernie Richmond, Elaine Richmond and Christine Strickland

Donations: Donations over $5 are tax deductible.  The Wellington Branch is a registered Incorporated Society.  Our Charities Services (formerly Charities Commission) registration number is CC27242. 

Annual membership: Student (full-time) $20, Single $25, Family $32, Educational Institute $40 and Corporate $50.  If first joining after 1 July, a 30% discount applies.  After 1 October, no discount applies, but Membership continues until the end of the following year.

To join the NZCFS Wellington Branch: please view the Wellington Branch Information Brochure & Membership Application Form or complete the online membership application form below.