

New Zealand China Friendship Society Inc.

www.nzchinasociety.org.nz

Patron: The Hon. Philip Burdon

President: Eric Livingstone



Charities Commission Registration: CC24101

2/10 Ngaio Street Nelson 7011

National Executive Travel Expenses Policy

- 1. Elected National Executive members can claim, and will then be refunded, fair and reasonable travel expenses when they attend National Executive meetings.
- 2. The payment of travel expenses to other legitimate members and attendees at National Executive (e.g. Branch Presidents and/or guests of National Executive) may be made, with prior approval of the President, Treasurer or the Finance Committee.
- 3. Reasonable travel expenses can include:
 - a. Return airfares from the member's home town to the airport nearest the venue plus return bus/train/taxi fares from the airport to the meeting venue, or
 - b. Use of a personal vehicle, where this is a more convenient and cheaper option, reimbursed on a per kilometre basis.
 - c. Airport parking fees.
- 4. The per kilometre rate for personal vehicle use can be set by the Finance Committee to reflect changing conditions. This is currently 30c/km.
- 5. Receipts must be provided (in writing or via email attachment) to the National Treasurer and National Executive members are expected to:
 - a. Book flights early to ensure flights are as cheap as possible, and
 - b. Share taxis and cars where this is reasonable and possible.
- 5. Where the member chooses to use a different or more complex method of transport, payment will be limited to the cost of reasonable equivalent airfares and bus/taxi/train fares between the airport and the meeting venue.
- 6. In the great majority of situations, the Treasurer will be able to pay the refund immediately by cheque or internet banking once receipts have been provided. Where the Treasurer is unsure as to the legitimacy or amount of a claim, it will be referred to the Finance Committee for a wise and fair decision.
- 7. Any payments made to the Treasurer for his/her travel will be approved by the Finance Committee Chairperson before payment is made.

Royden Smith National Treasurer