主页 赞助者:菲利普·伯顿

赞助者:菲利普·伯顿

Philip Burdon
Philip Burdon

伯顿先生 – 新中友好协会的赞助者– 在法律,商业和政治方面都有着卓越的成就。毕业于坎特伯雷大学法律系,他于1970年建立了一个成功的食品加工公司。伯顿先生是新西兰工商业界的重要成员,同时在数个新西兰与澳洲公司持有管理委员会的身份。. 

他的政治事业始于1981年中右翼国家党当地选区的代表。1990年被任命入新西兰内阁。直至1996年从政治方面退休,他的部长职包括了商业部长,国企业部长及贸易谈判部长。在任期间的高点包括带领新西兰在GATT乌拉圭场成功的谈判,以及帮助新西兰发展和亚洲贸易伙伴的关系。他以商业部长的身份代表新西兰参加了亚太经济合作会议的多次里程碑活动:1993年布莱克岛的首届经济领袖会议,1994年的茂物宣言,1995年的大阪行动计划及1996年的马尼拉行动计划。

之后,伯顿先生以多数不同的身份继续了新西兰与亚太地区的关系发展。这些职位包括了亚洲新西兰协会的主席(1996-01年),亚太经合企业顾问议会主席(1999年)和香港政策顾问议会的国际部会员。之后他再次回到了亚新协会主席的位置上。

Patron: Hon Philip Burdon

Philip Burdon

Philip Burdon

Mr Burdon – Patron of the New Zealand China Friendship Society Incorporated – has had a distinguished career across the fields of law, business and politics.  A Canterbury University law graduate, he moved into the private sector in 1970 establishing a successful food-processing company and is a leading member of the New Zealand business community, holding positions on the boards of several New Zealand and Australian corporates. 

His political career began as the centre-right National Party member for his local electorate in 1981. Appointed to the New Zealand Cabinet in 1990, he held a number of portfolios including Minister of Commerce, Minister for State-Owned Enterprises and Minister for Trade Negotiations, until retiring from politics in 1996. Highlights of his ministerial service include leading New Zealand’s successful negotiations through the various stages of the GATT Uruguay Round and helping build New Zealand’s relationships with Asian trade partners. He represented New Zealand as Trade Minister at important milestones in the development of APEC: the first meeting of APEC economic Leaders on Blake Island in 1993; the Bogor Declaration of 1994; the Osaka Action Agenda of 1995; and the Manila Action Plan for APEC adopted in 1996. 

Mr Burdon has pursued his interest in New Zealand’s relationship with the Asia-Pacific region as Chairman of the Asia 2000 Foundation of New Zealand (now Asia New Zealand Foundation – Asia:NZ) (1996-01), Chair of the APEC Business Advisory Council (1999) and member of the International Advisory Board for Hong Kong Policy Research Institute, prior to returning as Chairman of Asia:NZ.