山丹培黎学校

Shandan Bailie School

 

为了让学校可以实现创始人路易艾黎的理想, 新中友好协会委托教师和发送物资及其他援助到山丹培黎学校。

Part of the old Shandan Bailie School c.1947

1947年 旧山丹培黎学校的一部分

自从创立起,新中友好协会一直以来和路易艾黎 1944年创的山丹培黎学校有着良好的友谊关系。

学校历史

The new Shandan Bailie School of Agriculture,Forestry and Animal Husbandry opened in 1987

新山丹培黎农林牧学校1987年开放

当他们在陕西省的校园受到日军的威胁时,路易和George Hogg 加上60名左右学生跋涉到了戈壁沙漠边缘的荒弃古城山丹。在这里,路易租下了几所旧庙作为教室和工作室。他任命George Hogg 为校长。从一开始,学校就收到了新西兰朋友的帮助。这些朋友日后创建了新中友好协会。

在1945年7月,悲剧降临了。George 在和学生打篮球时受了伤,之后很快因破伤风去世了。他被葬在山丹南门外。路易接管了校长的职责。

Shandan Bailie - School Entrance

学校入口

他将学校以美国传教士Joseph Bailie 命名。这位传教士对于教育有着先进的看法。学校的时间表让学生可以“半学半玩”。早上,一半学生忙碌在实际任务中。另一半则参加正式教学。到了下午两组学生交换。

 

 

Shandan Bailie School - Rewi Alley Teaching

路易艾黎在解释内燃发动机的奥妙

 

学校提供了多种实用的技能。课程包括了陶器制造,纸张制造,玻璃吹制,纺织棉花和羊毛。学校有皮革处理,可以出品夹克和鞋子。学校有面粉加工厂,也同时可以从甜菜提取砂糖。学校有一场农场,放牧着新西兰支持者运来的羊群。学校也有煤矿及发电厂,可以为整个设施提供供电。

 

 

Students use homemade water wheel to irrigate fields.

学生用自制的水车来灌溉田地

学校招的学生都是没有文化的男孩(后期包括了女孩)。这些学生后来被培训成国家急需的技术人员。

路易在身边集合了一批有一技之长的外籍教师。多名来自新西兰,包括Bob 和Barbara Spencer,一位医生和一位护士。他们被CORSO援助组织所派。他们建立了方圆数百里唯一的医院。每天都会有很多病人,其中一大部分跋涉了很远的路程才到达。

学校用从工合购买的20辆卡车建立了一个运输部门。运输地点直从重庆延伸到沿海地带,为学校带来了大量的收入。机械部门包括了机械工具和铁匠铸造厂。铸造厂利用了当地出产的铁矿石,煤,以及卡车从兰州拉回的废铁。

1949年10月1日,中华人民共和国在北京正式成立了。但在山丹地区,共产党与撤退的国民党部队依旧在打仗。这期间非常的危险,但是学校师生用仅有的几条枪保卫了学校。共产党部队抵达的时候,路易派出了高年级学生和一名新西兰教师开卡车为胜利的解放军运输。

此时,培黎学校已经成功培训出几千名年轻的技师。当时国家严重的缺乏有技能的人士。这批技师很快被分配到全国各地工作。1952年,山丹学校被转移到了兰州,组成了培黎石油学校。不久后,山丹地区发生了大地震。几乎所有的建筑物都被摧毁。

Headmaster Ni Caiwang points to an artists impression of the newly competed Shandan Bailie School

校长指向新学校的模拟图

在他八十多岁高龄时,路易设计了一所新的山丹培黎学校以面对山丹地区当今的需要。

甘肃西部一直都是中国最贫困的地区之一。过度砍伐森林以及牛羊的过度放牧导致了草原的退步与沙漠的扩大。

 

路易的理想是建立一所学校在教育学生学习现代技巧的同时也可以学到维护大自然。

Shandan Bailie - New School

新山丹培黎学校

有了甘肃省政府和海外朋友(包括新中友好协会)的支持,新学校在1987年4月21日开幕了。这天是路易抵达中国的60周年纪念日。新中友好协会的代表是当年路易为培黎学校邀请过的新西兰教师Tom Newnham。

 

很快,数名其他的新西兰人也移到了山丹,包括1988年时Powley家庭和1989-90年的Karen Wilson。新中友好协会保持了选择和支持合格的新西兰教师去山丹教学的良好传统。2000年至此,已经有12位以上在山丹服务过。如想查看该位置详情请看山丹学校英语教师

新中友好协会也组织了其他方式的援助,例如1987年发送的一集装箱物品,学生奖学金(请看给山丹培黎学校的奖学金),和在山丹县有培黎学校支持的其他公益项目。

Shandan Bailie School

Shandan Bailie School

 

The NZCFS sends teachers, equipment and other support to help this school live up to the ideals of its founder, Rewi Alley.

Part of the old Shandan Bailie School c.1947

Part of the old Shandan Bailie School c.1947

Throughout its existence the NZ China Friendship Society has had a special relationship with the Shandan Bailie School, founded by Rewi Alley in 1944.

The School’s history

The new Shandan Bailie School of Agriculture,Forestry and Animal Husbandry opened in 1987

The new Shandan Bailie School of Agriculture,Forestry and Animal Husbandry opened in 1987.

When their school in Shaanxi Province was threatened by the Japanese advance, Rewi and George Hogg plus the 60 or so students packed up and trekked to the old derelict city of Shandan on the edge of the Gobi Desert. There Rewi rented some old temples and turned them into classrooms and workships, and appointed George Hogg as headmaster. From the beginning the school was helped by New Zealand friends, who later formed the New Zealand China Friendship Society.

In July 1945 tragedy struck when George died of Tetanus after stubbing his toe while playing basketball with the boys. He was buried just outside the South Gate of the town and Rewi took over as Headmaster.

Shandan Bailie - School Entrance

The entrance to the school

He named it the Shandan Bailie School after his friend, the American missionary Joseph Bailie, who had very enlightened ideas on education. The timetable allowed for “half-work, half-study”. In the mornings half the school was engaged in practical tasks, while the other half had formal lessons. In the afternoons the two halves switched over.

 

 

Shandan Bailie School - Rewi Alley Teaching

Rewi Alley explains the workings of the internal combustion engine.

An amazing variety of practical skills were taught. There were pottery kilns, paper-making, glass-blowing, spinning and weaving of cotton and wool. There was a leather section, where the hides were scraped, leather polished and dyed and jackets and shoes made. They had a flour mill and they made sugar from beet. There was a farm where they ran sheep sent from supporters in New Zealand. They had a coal mine and a power plant which provided electricity to the whole complex.

 

Students use homemade water wheel to irrigate fields.

Students use homemade water wheel to irrigate fields.

The students were illiterate peasant boys (and later girls) who were trained to become useful technicians in a backward country which needed their services badly.

Rewi gathered around him a number of foreign teachers with particular skills which they could pass on to the students. Quite a few came from New Zealand, including Bob and Barbara Spencer, a doctor and nurse who were sent out by the aid organisation CORSO. They set up the school hospital which was the only one for hundreds of miles and took many outpatients every day who had often travelled great distances.

There was a transport section with more than 20 trucks purchased from Gung Ho, which travelled as far away as Chongqing and even the coast, and earned good revenue for the school. The machine shop had a machine-tool section, blacksmith’s shop and foundry which used local iron-ore, coal and scrap iron hauled up by truck from Lanzhou.

On October 1st 1949 the Peoples Republic of China was proclaimed in Beijing but there was still fighting in the Shandan area between the retreating Nationalists and the Communists. It was a very dangerous period but the teachers and students had a few rifles and guarded their school. When the Communists arrived Rewi handed over the trucks with senior boys and a New Zealand teacher, Max Wilkinson, as drivers to help the victorious PLA (Peoples Liberation Army).

By this time the Bailie Schools had trained thousands of young people in the skills which were now urgently in demand and they soon found useful work all over the country. In 1952 the Shandan school was transferred to Lanzhou to become the Bailie Oil School. Shortly afterwards a great earthquake hit the Shandan region and almost every building in Shandan was destroyed.

Headmaster Ni Caiwang points to an artists impression of the newly competed Shandan Bailie School

Headmaster Ni Caiwang points to an artists impression of the newly competed school

When he was well over 80 years of age he conceived a plan for a new Shandan Bailie School. This time the aim was to meet the present-day needs of the region.

West Gansu is still one of the poorest parts of China, largely because the peasants have not been able to keep their farming in balance with nature. Deforestation and overgrazing by goats and sheep have caused erosion and the advance of the desert.

 

Rewi’s idea was for a school where the young people could be trained in modern techniques and at the same time, learn to preserve the land.

Shandan Bailie - New School

The new Shandan Bailie School

With the support of the Gansu government and friends from overseas, including the New Zealand China Friendship Society, a new school was built and opened on April 21st 1987, the 60th anniversary of Rewi’s arrival in China. The NZCFS was represented by New Zealand teacher, Tom Newnham, whom Rewi had invited to teach at the school.

 

Several other New Zealanders soon followed,including the Powley family in 1988, and Karen Wilson in 1989-90. NZCFS has continued the tradition of selecting and supporting suitable qualified New Zealanders to teach at Shandan to today, with over 12 serving since 2000 alone. To view this position go to English Teacher for Shandan Bailie School

The New Zealand China Friendship Society has also organised other aid, such as a container of materials in 1987, scholarships to students ( view 2005 Scholarships presented to Shandan Bailie School), and projects in Shandan county with SBS support.