主页 工合合作社

工合合作社

工合是中国工合国际委员会的简称。此行动是当年路易艾黎为了培养在国内民主合作而建立的项目。新中友好协会重点关注此行动,提供物资与精神上的支持。
工合会员在成都学习使用新型的手纺车。
工合会员在成都学习使用新型的手纺车。

工合历史

早期

工合行动有悠久的历史。1938年, 路易艾黎, Peg 和Edgar Snow,和其他在上海的朋友建立了中国工合国际委员会。这时日本侵略者已经占领了中国大部分的工业城市,意向占领全中国。路易的计划是在中国上下建立多个小的合作社可以为战争作贡献和促进为中国经济未来合作的理想。这次行动成为了对中国工合影响最大的全国性运动。

秘书身份的路易艾黎通常用自行车或搭便车旅行了数千公里。
秘书身份的路易艾黎通常用自行车或搭便车旅行了数千公里。

当时的工合全名为中国工业合作社。路易将工合二字当做了组织图标。

之后的两年在宋庆龄夫人为领袖和路易为秘书的领导下,行动扩散到了全国各地。十六省中发展出了3000多个合作社和300,000名会员。行动从全世界支持中国抗争日本帝国主义的人士得到了捐款。在新西兰,CORSO 组织开始了支持工合。

1942年,路易艾黎被袁世凯的腐败政府从工合逐放后将精力转移到了培黎学校上。工合行动逐渐的消散了

1983年路易艾黎在河南新乡访问一个工合合作社。
1983年路易艾黎在河南新乡访问一个工合合作社。

工合的重建

四十年后,路易85岁的时候,他发觉邓小平的改革策略为工合的复兴打开了一扇门。他与战期时工合的数名其他领袖一起复活了工合,获得了世界各地的支持。他们在北京,湖北(路易1932年时做过抗洪工作),山丹(甘肃省,路易从1944-52年带领过培黎学校)和其他的中心开始培养小型合作社。

1987年路易去世后,他的同事为委员会从澳洲,加拿大,比利时,德国,日本,墨西哥,英国,美国和新西兰招收了大量新会员。自1987年以来,工合在国内支持了大量的培训,才能增长,收入增强,参与性管理,女权提升和扶贫的合作社。合作社的地点包括了甘肃,四川,河北,河南,上海,云南,贵州,安徽和吉林。

项目的成功让工合增强了与其他国内外合作社的关系。工合与中华全国供销合作总社,中华全国手工合作总社,中国工业合作社,中国经济合作协会保持了密切的联系。国际生产工匠合作社,加拿大合作社协会,德国,斯洛伐克,西班牙,日本及韩国的合作社组织,世界银行,乐施会,国际计划慈善组织和新西兰,澳洲,新加坡,加拿大,美国,英国和比利时的友谊组织都对工合提供了各种援助。

新主管人员的第一次会议,北京,2010年9月

工合不断增强的重要性体现在某些方面(例如联合企业的新法则)可以向政府提议的能力。在政府正在关注济贫工作的时候,工合可以在帮助农村和乡下人利用合作提高生活质量扮演一个关键的角色。


复兴后的活动

从1987到1999年,工合从中央和地方政府及路易艾黎合作基金会获得了财政支持。工合建立了三处合作领导区,分别在甘肃山丹,湖北洪湖及山东龙口和蓬莱,以及多数的村级工业合作社。

1995年,工合与地方妇女协会合作在河北保定建立了一批乡下妇女劳工及下岗女工的合作社。

2001至2005年,工合与加拿大合作社协会一起开启了一份中加工业合作项目协定。项目在吉林梨树,河南登封及上海举行了25次合作培训和10次合作促进活动。参加人数达到了2352人。

从2001到2003年,在新西兰政府和新中友好协会的支持下参与了河北曲阳宋家庄何清明工合诊所的建立,以及河北妇女健康援助项目和乡下社区发展项目。总共,386名妇女参加了培训,219名接受了健康检查及被治疗的167名。

新西兰驻中国大使John McKinnon与当地人员访问洪湖残疾劳工衣物合作社。2004年2月1日

从2004年工合与世界银行,加拿大联合协会,和中国社会学学院合作形成了合作方面的新立法。农民专业合作法于2006年通过,2007年正式启用。此法律为工合在国内发扬合作的基础。

2005年,工合实现了世界银行四川农民经济合作项目。工合编辑了汉英双语的培训资料然后在四川仁寿和天全县组织了8次培训集会。工合也举办了11次合作咨询活动。活动总共有233人参加,并发出了426份培训资料。

丛2006-2009年,工合与加拿大联合协会合作实现了一个3年“中加济贫合作项目”(CRPRC)。项目组织在甘肃山丹,四川仁寿和陕西黔阳举办了一系列的合作,社会觉悟和环境保护培训课。加拿大联合协会介绍了‘发展级别测试’(DLA)工具以帮助合作社提高管理水平及规范化建设。

2007年,在法国非政府组织‘为宁夏妇女’的邀请下,工合为宁夏同心县马高庄镇的妇女提供了合作培训与指导。

2008年,工合实现了中欧自然森林管理项目。工合在四川宝兴,平武和湖南永顺举行了合作培训及咨询。

2008年大地震后,此项目帮助了四川彭洲黄庄重建1.2公里的灌渠

2008和2009年,为了支援汶川地震的重建工作,新中友好协会支持了工合完成了彭州黄庄恢复重建项目及彭洲大景山种茶合作培训项目。

2009年,工合庆祝了立会70周年纪念日。“工合70周年庆典”于6月29日在北京宋庆龄的前住所举行。70多人参加了这次庆典。

Michael Crook,工合的副主席,在开幕仪式上发言。他欢迎了所有的嘉宾,然后短暂的形容了工合的历史。他表示很期望工合在国内发展合作社的新时代。

参与的嘉宾包括了 Karen Carlson Loving,美国海军陆战队 Evans Carlson中校的孙女,以及数名他的士兵。Carlson 是30年代美国大使馆的武官。他以“工合”做为他精锐团队的口号。1942年底,这个口号在整个海军陆战部队变的很普遍。在仪式上,士兵们接受了为他们工合精神而表示尊敬的丝旗。

其他参加庆典的嘉宾包括了Carl Worker,新西兰驻中国大使; Isabel Crook,工合顾问; 唐闻生,中国宋庆龄基金会副主席;和谢元,中国人民对外友好协会总裁。中国民政部,新中友好协会,和工合前委员Bill Willmott 送去了贺词。

2010年,在中国非政府组织协会的资助下,工合在山西寿阳和金钟举行了建筑测试及合作培训

新中友好协会与工合

2010年9月工合新执行委员会(会长Michael Crook未在照片里)

自工合1984年重建以来,数名的新中友好协会会员同时是工合会员。友好协会前会长与委员Bill Willmott教授在工合委员会服务到2006年,直至协会委员Dave Bromwich替代了他的职位。2010年的第5次5年度会议上,他被选为工合4位副会长之一。新中友好协会与2007年正式成为工合的成员之一。

1992年,协会给了洪湖残疾员工衣物合作社一笔可观的捐献。我们从新西兰外交部的补助计划获得了补助;总共向合作社捐了$4000新币。这笔钱帮助合作社添加了缝纫机,让合作社增加了海外合同及会员数。 如今,该合作社非常的成功。合作社有60多名会员为一个瑞士公司生产体育用品,以及为当地工厂出品工作服。

在偏僻的山丹,甘肃省最穷的地区之一,工合帮助建立了12个合作社。这些包括了一个造纸厂,编纺厂,试验农场,塑料回收厂以及香皂工厂。虽然技术和市场都有限,这些合作社为年轻人提供了就业机会与工业技能,为地区未来的发展打下了基础。新中友好协会对这些合作社提供了支持,经常的派人访问。

2000年11月16日工合在北京友协博物馆开会后。以上的委员为:从左Xiao Weixiang, Michael Crook (副主席), Mu Jingmei (项目管理),Pat Adler, Lu Wanru(副主席),Bill Willmott, Guo Lina(执行秘书), Wang Houde(主席), Lu Suhui(会计), Zhang Longhai, Tang Zongkun. (Zhang Longhai先生是中国驻新西兰前大使

2000年11月,协会会长Bill Willmott访问了协会帮助开启的保定工合女子合作社。他看到了保定妇女协会为妇女合作社的努力。一个小村里的纺织合作社为57名妇女带来了收入。一个保定市内的校车合作社提供了多种好处:为失业的妇女带来了工作,为学生带来了交通的方便,为学校门前解决了交通堵塞的安全隐患。

自2006年以来,协会与工合,山丹合作社联盟,和山丹培黎学校合作在甘肃实现了一系列的济贫项目。这些项目从山丹县开始,将合作社的专业度提升到了国际水平。至2011年月,山丹县有31个合作社是协会直接帮助建立的。这些合作社大部分为生产企业,但也包括了消费合作社及机械合作社。这些项目让山丹县成为了现代工合合作社的模范县。在培黎学校,工合建立了一个合作培训班。

在张掖区的4个县,一个项目从2008年9月到2010年6月增加了13个工合合作社。新中友好协会参与了这些合作社的创立。

2008年汶川大地震后,协会与工合在彭洲实行了2个重建项目。详情请看‘新中友好协会与工合在四川地震救援项目的合作’。

2009年9月,协会与工合和陕西妇女协会合作组织了提升合作了解的研讨会。会上,妇女协会代表对新的妇女合作社项目表示了很大的兴趣。2011年3月,陕西宝鸡和汉中区的新工合合作项目开始了。此项目先培训一批人建立起8个模范合作社。之后这些合作社可以帮助当地人继续发展新的合作社。此项目将工合,陕西妇女协会和新中友好协会带到了一起。新西兰政府为项目提供了赞助。

这个项目向宝鸡区提供了回报。该地区在二战期间对工合活动有过巨大的帮助。

中国工合国际委员会网站 可以提供更多信息。

有意加入工合的正义事业可以申请会员身份。请联系gunghochina@gmail.com

中国工合国际委员会
Room 805,
Jilijiayuan Building 3,
No 20 Shaoyaoju
Chaoyang District

新西兰联络人:
Dave Bromwich
工合副主席
新中友好协会北岛副会长
dbromwich@xtra.co.nz

其他资料:

七访山丹一艾黎的精神在召唤 – 作者:呂宛如(2006)

云达忠在北京工合研讨会上的演讲(2007)

Gung Ho Co-operatives

Gung Ho is the slogan and nickname of the International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives, a project founded by Rewi Alley to foster genuine democratic cooperatives in various parts of China. The New Zealand China Friendship Society supports this movement both materially and morally as one of our major projects.
Cooperative members in Chengdu learn to handle new-model spinning wheels.

Cooperative members in Chengdu learn to handle new-model spinning wheels.

History of Gung Ho

The Early Years

The Gung Ho movement has a long history. In 1938, Rewi Alley, Peg and Edgar Snow, and some other friends in Shanghai together set up an International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives. At that time, the Japanese invaders had already captured most of China’s industrial cities and looked to occupy all of China in the near future. Rewi’s plan was to establish small producer cooperatives throughout China that could contribute substantially to the war effort at the same time as they advanced the ideals of cooperation that Rewi and many others espoused as the hope for China’s economic future.This became a nation-wide civil movement with the biggest influence in China Gung Ho movement history.

As field secretary Rewi Alley regularly travelled thousands of kilometres, often by hitch-hiking or bicycle.

As field secretary Rewi Alley regularly travelled thousands of kilometres, often by hitch-hiking or bicycle.

The Chinese name for “China Industrial Cooperatives” was Zhongguo Gongye Hezhoushe. This was abbreviated as Gong He (the first characters for the two words for “Industrial Cooperatives”), or “Gung Ho”, as it was then written. Rewi adopted this as the logo for the movement, and it can be translated as “working together”, which was a perfect slogan for the movement as a whole.

With Madame Soong Ching Ling (Sun Yatsen’s widow) as its leader and Rewi as field secretary, the movement took off, and within two years there were over 3,000 cooperatives scattered through sixteen provinces with more than 300,000 members. It collected money all over the world from people sympathetic to China’s struggle against Japanese imperialism. In New Zealand, CORSO began its life supporting the Gung Ho movement.

After 1942, when Rewi Alley was dismissed from Gung Ho by Chiang Kaishek’s corrupt government, he shifted his attention to the Bailie Schools, and the Gung Ho movement gradually petered out.

Rewi Alley visiting a Gung Ho co-operative in Xinxiang, Henan Province in 1983.

Rewi Alley visiting a Gung Ho co-operative in Xinxiang, Henan Province in 1983.

Gung Ho re-established

Forty years later, when Rewi was already 85, he realised that the government reform policies under Deng Xiaoping opened the door for a revival of the Gung Ho movement. Together with several of the war-time leaders of Gung Ho, he resurrected the movement and gained support from various cooperative federations and foundations around the world. They began to foster small cooperatives in Beijing, Hubei, (where Rewi had done flood relief in 1932) and Shandan (Gansu, where Rewi had led the Bailie School for eight years 1944-52), and other centres.

When he died in 1987, his colleagues continued the work and recruited many more to the committee from Australia, Canada, Belgium, Germany, Japan, Mexico, UK, USA, and New Zealand. Since 1987, the ICCIC has supported a large number of cooperatives in different provinces in China for cooperative principle training, capacity building, income generating, participatory management, environment improvement, women’s position enhancement, poverty alleviation, etc. Cooperatives were been set up as far afield as Gansu, Sichuan, Hebei, Henan, Shanghai, Yunnan, Guizhou, Anhui, and Jilin.

The success of ICCIC’s projects has strengthened its ties with other cooperative organizations at home and abroad. ICCIC keeps close ties with the All-China Federation of Supply and Marketing Cooperatives, the All China-Federation of Handicraft Cooperatives, the Association of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives and the China Society of the Cooperative Economy. And the International Committee of Producers and Artisans Cooperatives (CICOPA) under the ICA, the Canadian Cooperative Association, the cooperative organizations in Germany, Slovakia, Spain, Japan, Korea; the World Bank, Oxfam and Plan International, the international organizations and friendship organizations in New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Canada, America, Britain, Belgium, supported ICCIC in various ways.

The first meting of the new executive, Beijing September 2010

The growing relevance of ICCIC is also apparent in its ability to lobby the government on such things as the new law on cooperative enterprises. At a time when the government is committed to the alleviation of poverty, the ICCIC can play a vital role in helping rural people find ways to raise their living standards through cooperative endeavours.


Activities after Resumption

From 1987 to 1999, the ICCIC was financially supported by the Central Government and local governments as well as by the Rewi Alley Cooperatives Foundation. It founded three cooperative pilot zones one after the other in Shandan in Gansu Province, Honghu in Hubei Province and Longkou and Penglai in Shandong Province, and also a number of village-level industrial cooperatives in over 20 cities and counties.

In 1995, the ICCIC worked with local women’s associations to found a number of women workers’ cooperatives for rural women and urban laid-off women in the Baoding area of Hebei Province.

From 2001 to 2005, the ICCIC worked with the Canadian Cooperatives Association (the CCA) based on a Sino-Canadian industrial cooperatives development cooperation project agreement and ran 25 cooperative training sessions and 10 cooperative promotion events respectively in Lishu, Jilin Province, Dengfeng, Henan Province, and Shanghai, with a total attendance of 2352. A set of Cooperative Train the Trainer Practical Training Material was published.

From 2001 to 2003, under the support of the New Zealand Government and New Zealand China Friendship Society, the ICCIC played a part in the founding of the Kathleen Hall ICCIC Clinic in North Songjia Village, Quyang County, Hebei Province, and set up the Hebei Women’s Health Aid Project and the Rural Community Comprehensive Development Project there. Altogether, 386 women participated in the training, 219 women underwent a health survey and 167 women had medical treatment.

NZ Ambassador to China John McKinnon visits the Honghu Disabled Workers’ Garment Co-operative with local hosts. 1 Feb.2004.

From 2004 ICCIC participated with World Bank, Canadian Cooperative Association, and China Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) in formulating of new cooperative legislation, resulting in the passing in 2006 “Law of Farmers’ Professional Cooperatives”. This law came into effect on July 2007, and is the basis for the promotion of Gungho style cooperatives in China today.

In 2005, the ICCIC implemented the World Bank Sichuan Farmers’ Cooperative Economic Organization Social Training and Consultation Project, and compiled a set of training and consultation materials (Chinese and English bilingual version) on rural cooperative economic organizations, and held eight training sessions which were attended by 325 people in Renshou County and Tianquan County in Sichuan Province. It also organized 11 cooperative consultation events attended by 233 people, and issued 426 copies of training materials and documents.

From 2006 to 2009, the ICCIC and the Canadian Cooperative Association jointly implemented a three-year “Sino-Canada Co-operatives Reducing Poverty in Rural China Project (CRPRC)”, and carried out a series of cooperative, social gender awareness and environmental awareness training in Shandan, Gansu Province, Renshou, Sichuan Province, and Qianyang, Shaanxi Province. It also introduced the cooperative development level assessment (the DLA) tool from the Canadian Cooperative Association to help cooperatives improve their management, promote regularization construction and foster model cooperatives.

In 2007, at the invitation of a French NGO called For Women in Ningxia, the ICCIC provided cooperative training and guidance for women in Magaozhuang Town, Tongxin County, Ningxia Autonomous Region.

In 2008, the ICCIC implemented the Sino-Europe Natural Forest Management Project and carried out cooperatives training and consultation in Baoxing and Pingwu in Sichuan Province and Yongshun in Hunan Province.

After the 2008 earthquake, one project helped to rebuild 1.2km of irrigation channels in Huang village, Pengzhou, Sichuan

In 2008 and 2009, to support the post-quake recovery in the Wenchuan area of Sichuan Province, with the support of the New Zealand China Friendship Society, the ICCIC carried out the Pengzhou Huangcun Post-quake Recovery Project and the Pengzhou Danjingshan Tea Planting Cooperative Training Project in Pengzhou City, Sichuan Province.

IN 2009, ICCIC celebrated its 70th anniversary. The “70th Anniversary Celebration of the ICCIC” was held in the Meeting Hall of the Former Residence of Soong Ching Ling in Beijing on June 29, more than 70 people attended.

Michael Crook, Vice-Chair of the ICCIC, delivered an opening speech at the ceremony. He welcomed all the distinguished guests and gave a brief historical retrospective of the organization. He said he looked forward to a new era of the ICCIC with a mission of furthering the establishment and development of cooperatives in China.

The attendees included Karen Carlson Loving, granddaughter of Lt. Col. Evans Carlson of the U.S. Marine Corps and some members of Carlson’s Raiders. Carlson was a military attaché at the U.S. embassy in China in the late 1930s. He chose “Gung Ho” as the motto for his elite battalion. By late 1942, it was widely adopted throughout the Marine Corps as an expression of spirit and a “can do” attitude. Also at the ceremony, Carlson’s Raiders were presented with a silk banner for their dedication to spread the Gung Ho spirit and motto “Work Hard and Work Together.”

Carl Worker, New Zealand’s Ambassador to China; Isabel Crook, a consultant for the ICCIC; Tang Wensheng, Vice-chair of the China Soong Ching Ling Foundation; and Xie Yuan, Director of the Chinese People’s Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries, attended the celebration ceremony. The Ministry of Civil Affairs of the People’s Republic of China, The New Zealand China Friendship Society and ICCIC Former Executive Member Bill Willmott sent messages of congratulation to ICCIC.

In 2010, under of the social development fund of the China Association for NGO Cooperation, the ICCIC carried out regularization construction assessment and training for 20 cooperatives in Shouyang County and Jinzhong County in Shanxi Province.

NZCFS and ICCIC

The new ICCIC executive September 2010 (President Michael Crook not in the photo).

Since its re-establishment in 1984, a number of members of NZCFS have also been members of ICCIC. NZCFS past-president and executive member Professor Bill Willmott served as an executive member of ICCIC until retiring in 2006, when NZCFS executive member Dave Bromwich was seconded as an executive member of ICCIC. In the 5th 5 year meeting held in Beijing in September 2010, he was elected as one of four vice-presidents of ICCIC. NZCFS formally became a corporate member of ICCIC in 2007.

In 1992, the New Zealand China Friendship Society made a substantial contribution to a handicapped workers’ garment cooperative in Honghu. We obtained a subsidy from the Voluntary Association Subsidy Scheme (VASS) of NZ government’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and our total contribution of NZ $4,000 helped the cooperative to buy sewing machines that enabled it to expand its membership and get overseas contracts. Today this cooperative is flourishing with a membership of over sixty producing sportswear for a Swiss company as well as work clothing for local factories.

In remote Shandan, the poorest region of Gansu, twelve cooperatives were established, including a paper mill, a flax mill, an experimental farm, a plastic recycling plant, and a soap factory. Although the technology is primitive and markets limited, these cooperatives provide not only employment for young people who might otherwise have to leave their home town, but also training in industrial skills and cooperative principles that will enhance the welfare of the district in the future. NZCFS took an interest in these cooperatives and visited them frequently.

The executive committee of Gung Ho after its meeting 16 November 2000 in the Youxie Museum, Beijing. From left: Xiao Weixiang, Michael Crook (V-Ch), Mu Jingmei (Project Officer), Pat Adler, Lu Wanru (V-Ch), Bill Willmott, Guo Lina (Exec. Sec.), Wang Houde (Chairman), Lu Suhui (Accountant), Zhang Longhai, Tang Zongkun. (Mr Zhang Longhai was formerly Chinese Ambassador to NZ).

In November 2000, NZCFS President Bill Willmott went to China for a week to visit the women’s Gung Ho cooperatives in Baoding Prefecture (just south of Beijing) that NZCFS has helped to get started. He was heartened by the work the Baoding Women’s Federation is doing to foster women’s co-operatives in both village and city. A knitting co-operative in a small village is providing work and income for fifty-seven women who would otherwise be left behind by the current reform policies. A school bus cooperative in Baoding City is solving three problems at once: work for unemployed women, transport for the children of working mothers, and the problems of dangerous traffic congestion at school gates four times a day.

Since 2006, NZCFS has worked with ICCIC and its affiliated organisation in Shandan County, the Shandan Cooperative Federation (SCF), and Shandan Bailie School to develop a series of Poverty Alleviation Projects in Gansu. These projects initially worked in Shandan County to assist in bringing cooperatives there up to modern standards of International Cooperatives as allowed in a new Chinese Government Cooperatives Law. As at January 2011, there are now 31 rural cooperatives that NZCFS projects have helped directly to establish in Shandan County. These are predominantly rural producer cooperatives, but also include consumer cooperatives and machinery service cooperatives. These projects have enhanced the position of Shandan County as a model county for modern gung ho style cooperatives, and established a cooperative training programme based at Shandan Bailie School.

A new project, started in September 2008 and completed in June 2010, has extended NZCFS activity in cooperative establishment to four other counties of Zhangye district. This established a further 13 Gungho style model cooperatives in 4 counties.

Following the 2008 May 12 Sichuan Earthquake, NZCFS worked with ICCIC to deliver two rehabilitation projects in Pengzhou, a district bordering Wenchuan county, with Pengzhou Rural Development Bureau collaborating as local implementers for these projects. See NZCFS and ICCIC work together in Sichuan Earthquake Relief Projects

In September 2009, NZCFS organized a workshop with Shaanxi Women’s Federation and ICCIC to improve understanding of cooperatives with WF personnel from Shaanxi Province. At this workshop, WF representatives present showed great interest in a project together to promote cooperatives for women. In March 2011 a new project to establish modern Gungho style cooperatives in Baoji and Hanzhong districts of SW Shaanxi province will begin. It uses a Training of Trainers approach to set up 8 model cooperatives, that can assist local cooperative promoters to extend successful cooperatives in each area. The project brings ICCIC and Shaanxi Women’s Federation together with NZCFS, who successfully applied for funding from NZ governments new Sustainable Development Fund.

Inclusion of Baoji district in this project delivers a return to an area which was very significant in the Gungho Indusco Cooperative movement of the late 1930s, early 1940s period.

The “International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives ” website can provide more information.

 The ICCIC is open to applications for membership. Anyone interested in joining this worthy cause may e-mail or write for an application form to: gunghochina@gmail.com

International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives
Room 805,
Jilijiayuan Building 3,
No 20 Shaoyaoju
Chaoyang District

New Zealand contact person:
Dave Bromwich
Vice-president ICCIC
National President NZCFS
dbchinz@xtra.co.nz