Home Updates Society News and Events Commemoration...

Commemoration of the 30th Anniversary of James Bertram’s Death – 16 Dec 2023

471

An Online Symposium co-organised by the New Zealand China Friendship Society (NZCFS), the International Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Industrial Cooperatives (ICCIC), and the Soong Ching Ling Residence Foundation to Commemorate the 30th Anniversary of James Bertram’s Death

Date: Saturday 16 December 2023 (the anniversary of the day James Bertram departed from Beiping to Sian in 1936)

Timing: 2:30–4:30 pm NZT (9:30–11:30 am Beijing time). Speeches start 3:00 pm NZT (10:00 am Beijing time)

Locations: Beijing, Xi’an, New Zealand

[Registration is now closed]

Symposium programme:

  1. 9:30-10:00 Video of James Bertram to be played prior to meeting
  2. Welcome from NZCFS President Chris Lipscombe and ICCIC Chairman Michael Crook
  3. Opening remarks (3 minutes each):
      • Recorded greeting from Geoff Bertram, James Bertram’s nephew
      • Opening remarks from:
        • New Zealand Ambassador to China Mr Grahame Morton
        • China Ambassador to New Zealand Dr Wang Xiaolong
        • Soong Ching Ling Residence Foundation
      • Other remarks from:
        • CPAFFC
        • BJPAFFC
        • SXPAFFC
        • SHSCLF
  4. Speeches (10 minutes each)
    • James Bertram, the Unsung Internationalist—Chris Lipscombe, President of NZCFS
    • James Bertram and China Defence League—Li Xueying, China Soong Qing Ling Residence Foundation
    • James Bertram and Xi’an Incident/Mao Interview—Peter Chin/Niu Yulin
  5. Question and Answer (10 minutes)
  6. Announcements
  7. Closing remarks by ICCIC Chairman Michael Crook (10 minutes)